KoWi Logo
de / en


Guide for complementary funding mechanisms in third countries

06. May 2022

The European Commission has published a guide on the co-funding mechanisms of third countries which are not eligible for funding in Horizon Europe.

As a general rule, entities from all over the world can participate in the EU Horizon Europe Framework Programme. However, many industrialised countries which are neither EU-members nor associated to Horizon Europe do not usually receive EU funding and must bring their own funds in order to participate in Horizon Europe projects. Several third countries provide their own research and innovation funds to finance the participation of their research institutions and companies in Horizon Europe. This national funding from third countries is known as co-funding.
So far, the following countries have pledged to provide "co-funding" for Horizon Europe:

  • Australia
  • Japan
  • Mexico
  • New Zealand
  • China
  • Switzerland
  • South Korea

The co-funding mechanisms each relate to different scientific fields prioritised by the countries. Applicants from third countries must apply separately for national funding for Horizon Europe and are requested to contact the relevant funding organisations in their countries.