European Liaison Office of the German Research Organisations

International Cooperation in Horizon 2020

The EU Framework Programme for Research is one of the biggest and most open research funding programmes worldwide. Funding of international research cooperation will be continued under Horizon 2020, allowing researchers from EU Member States and Associated Countries to work together with partners from Third Countries within an EU project.

The EU also concludes S&T-agreements with selected countries, defining the areas and forms of cooperation. In addition, joint "roadmaps" with selected third countries – especially with the so-called BRICS countries – have been drawn up, and work programmes should be thematically aligned with these roadmaps.


In addition to the 28 EU Member States, the Associated Countries to the Framework Programme are also eligible to participate. Successful applications from these countries will, just like those from Member States, automatically be funded from the Horizon 2020 budget.

The following countries are associated to Horizon 2020:

  • Iceland
  • Norway
  • Albania
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Republic of North Macedonia
  • Montenegro
  • Serbia
  • Turkey
  • Israel
  • Moldova
  • Faroe Islands
  • Ukraine
  • Tunesia
  • Georgia
  • Armenia
  • Switzerland