European Liaison Office of the German Research Organisations

EDCTP 2 - European Developing Countries Clinical Trials Partnership

The “European Developing Countries Clinical Trials Partnership” (EDCTP) was the first initiative based on article 169 of the Treaty of Nice (now article 185 of the Treaty on the functioning of the European Union (TFEU)). EDCTP was created in 2003 as a European Economic Interest Group (EEIG) in response to the challenges of the global health crisis and to fight the three big poverty-related diseases of HIV/AIDS, malaria and tuberculosis.


Main objective of the initiative is to reduce poverty in developing countries by improving the health of the population. By integrating European research efforts, and in partnership with African countries, EDCTP aims to step up the development and testing of new vaccines and medicines for the prevention and treatment of HIV, malaria and tuberculosis. Phase II and III clinical trials are implemented in cooperation with partners of Sub-Saharan African states.

Organisation und participation

Amongst the partner states of EDCTP are 14 EU member states (Germany, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom) and two associated states (Norway and Switzerland), as well as the Sub-Saharan African states.

The implementation of the EDCTP Programme takes place through calls in the areas given above. Proposals have to be addressed directly to the Executive Office in The Hague, provided that the European partners have ensured the cofinancing from the respective member state.