KoWi Logo
de / en


European Partnerships are alliances between the European Union, represented by the European Commission, and private and/or public partners. Cooperation with these partners is expected to generate a specific and complementary added value for research and innovation in Europe, which cannot be achieved by projects funded under Horizon Europe. 

The number of partnership types has been reduced from nine (Horizon 2020) to three as part of the streamlining and simplification measures:

Co-programmed European Partnerships
These are partnerships between the European Commission and private and/or public partners. They are based on "Memoranda of Understanding" and/or contractual agreements.

Co-funded European Partnerships (using a programme co-fund action)
At the heart of these partnerships, which involve Member States, are national or regional research funders and other public institutions.

Institutionalised European Partnerships
Partnerships under which the EU participates in research and innovation funding programmes of EU Member States.

These partnerships are based either on Council regulations (under the TFEU, Article 187) or on decisions of the European Parliament and the Council (TFEU Article 185). Separate facilities will be created for their implementation.

Institutionalised partnerships are only established when other parts of the Framework Programme, including other types of partnerships, would not achieve the desired objectives or the expected impacts.

Calls for Partnerships are published on the European Commission's Funding & Tender Opportunities Portal.

Institutionalised partnerships also include the EIT Knowledge and Innovation Communities (KICs). EIT KICs have already been created under Horizon 2020. Its aim, inter alia, is to counteract qualification deficits in the labour force. Partners in EIT KICs are universities and research institutions, as well as companies and other stakeholders.