PRIMA - Partnership for Research and Innovation in the Mediterranean Area

Environmental and social changes are affecting Mediterranean agro-food systems and water resources. Climate change, unsustainable agricultural practices, over-exploitation of natural resources and new lifestyle behaviours put a strain on the sustainable and healthy development of the region, with major impacts on its societies

To meet these challenges the Mediterranean area faces, the PRIMA initiative was launched on the basis of Article 185 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union (TFEU) to develop joint solutions through research and innovation.

Objective

The "general objectives of PRIMA are to build research and innovation capacities and to develop knowledge and common innovative solutions for agro-food systems, to make them sustainable, and for integrated water provision and management in the Mediterranean area, to make those systems and that provision and management more climate resilient, efficient, cost-effective and environmentally and socially sustainable, and to contribute to solving water scarcity, food security, nutrition, health, well-being and migration problems upstream." (Article 2, Decision of the European Parliament and of the Council on the participation of the Union in the Partnership for Research and Innovation in the Mediterranean Area (PRIMA) jointly undertaken by several Member States, 18/7/2017).[pagebreak]

Organisation and participation

In 2014, several EU member states (Croatia, Cyprus, France, Greece, Italy, Malta, Portugal, Slovenia and Spain) submitted a proposal for PRIMA to the European Commission which carried out an Impact Assessment and a public consultation on the issue and in October 2016 submitted a proposal for a decision by the European Parliament and the Council on the participation of the Union in a corresponding initiative according to Article 185 of the TFEU. The decision of the Parliament and the Council on the establishment of the initiative entered into force on August 7, 2017.

Currently, 19 countries are formal participants of the initiative. 11 EU member states (Croatia, Cyprus, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain), as well as 8 Mediterranean partner countries - Israel, Tunisia and Turkey as countries associated to Horizon 2020 as well as Algeria, Egypt, Jordan, Lebanon and Morocco which have all signed a corresponding specific international agreement with the EU.

As the initiative is evolving over time, more participants from both EU and non-EU countries may join.

For the management of the initiative a corresponding body, the "PRIMA Foundation", has been set up in Barcelona.[pagebreak]

Budget

For the duration of the programme (2018-2028) a total budget of almost €500 million is foreseen, of which €274 million will be provided by the participating countries and €220 million by the European Commission through the Framework Programme for Research and Innovation (currently Horizon 2020).

Calls for proposals

PRIMA has published its first call for proposals on February 6, 2018 with a deadline for pre-proposals in March/April 2018. The call consisted of 12 topics based on the Strategic Research and Innovation Agenda which provides for three main thematic areas:

  • MANAGEMENT OF WATER - Integrated and sustainable management of water for arid and semi-arid Mediterranean areas
  • FARMING SYSTEMS - Sustainable farming systems under Mediterranean environmental constraints
  • AGRO-FOOD VALUE CHAIN - Sustainable Mediterranean agro-food value chain for regionl and local development.

The future projects under this call will be funded in part centrally, from EU Commission funds (3 Topics, "Call Section 1") and in part decentrally, from funds of the participating countries (9 Topics, "Call Section2"). Further information and details on this call are available on the PRIMA Website.

The results of this call are expected to be published in December 2018.

The second call for proposals and the Annual Work Plan 2019 will also be published in December. The PRIMA Secretariat will organise an Info Day for this call on 4 December 2018.

PRIMA - Partnership for Research and Innovation in the Mediterranean Area

Ökologische und soziale Veränderungen haben gravierende Auswirkungen auf Nahrungsmittel- und Wasserressourcen im Mittelmeerraum. Klimawandel, nicht nachhaltige landwirtschaftliche Praktiken, Übernutzung der natürlichen Ressourcen und neue Lebensgewohnheiten belasten die nachhaltige und gesunde Entwicklung der Region. Dies hat große Auswirkungen auf unsere Gesellschaften.

Um diesen Herausforderungen gemeinsam erarbeitete Lösungen aus Forschung und Innovation entgegen zu setzen, wurde die PRIMA-Initiative auf der Grundlage von Artikel 185 des Vertrags über die Arbeitsweise der Europäischen Union (AVEU) ins Leben gerufen.

Zielsetzung

Ziel der Initiative ist es, "Forschungs- und Innovationskapazitäten aufzubauen, Wissen zu fördern und gemeinsame innovative Lösungen für nachhaltige Agrar- und Lebensmittelsysteme und eine integrierte Wasserversorgung und -bewirtschaftung im Mittelmeerbereich auszuarbeiten, deren Klimaresistenz, Wirksamkeit, Kosteneffizienz sowie ökologische und gesellschaftliche Nachhaltigkeit zu verbessern und einen Beitrag zu vorgelagerten Lösungen für Probleme in den Bereichen Wasserknappheit, Ernährungssicherheit, Ernährung, Gesundheit, Wohlbefinden und Migration zu leisten" (Artikel 2, Beschluss des Europäischen Parlamentes und des Rates über die Beteiligung der Union an der von mehreren Mitgliedstaaten gemeinsam durchgeführten Partnerschaft für Forschung und Innovation im Mittelmeerraum (PRIMA), 18.7.2017).[pagebreak]

Organisation und Beteiligung

Im Jahr 2014 hatten mehrere EU-Mitgliedsstaaten (Frankreich, Griechenland, Italien, Kroatien, Malta, Portugal, Slowenien, Spanien und Zypern) einen Vorschlag für PRIMA bei der Europäischen Kommission eingereicht. Diese führte 2015/2016 ein Impact Assessment und eine öffentliche Konsultation hierzu durch. Im Oktober 2016 legte sie einen Vorschlag für einen Beschluss des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates über die Beteiligung der Union an einer entsprechenden Maßnahme nach Artikel 185 des AUEV vor. Der entsprechende Beschluss des Europäischen Parlamentes und des Rates wurde am 7. August 2017 rechtskräftig.

Formell beteiligt sind zurzeit 19 Länder an der Maßnahme, 11 Mitgliedstaaten der EU (Deutschland, Frankreich, Griechenland, Italien, Kroatien, Luxemburg, Malta, Portugal, Slowenien, Spanien und Zypern), sowie 8 Mittelmeer-Partnerländer - die an H2020 assoziierten Staaten Israel, Türkei und Tunesien, sowie Ägypten, Algerien, Jordanien, Libanon und Marokko, die jeweils ein internationales Abkommen mit der EU zum Beitritt zu PRIMA geschlossen haben.

Bei Interesse können in Zukunft auch weitere Länder der EU oder von außerhalb der EU der Initiative beitreten.

Für die Organisation der Initiative wurde eine Managementorganisation, die "PRIMA Foundation" mit Sitz in Barcelona eingerichtet.[pagebreak]

Budget

Für die Laufzeit des Programms (2018-2028) ist ein Gesamtbudget von fast 500 M€ vorgesehen. Davon werden 274 M€ von den zurzeit beteiligten Ländern und 220 M€ von der EU-Kommission durch das Rahmenprogramm für Forschung und Innovation (zurzeit Horizon 2020) zur Verfügung gestellt .

Ausschreibungen

PRIMA hat am 6. Februar 2018 seine erste und am 14. Dezember die zweite Ausschreibung veröffentlicht. Die Ausschreibungen sind ist in Topics unterteilt, die auf der Strategic Research and Innovation Agenda und den darin dargelegten Prioritäten der Initiative basieren und drei thematische Bereiche betreffen:

  • MANAGEMENT OF WATER - Integrated and sustainable management of water for arid and semi-arid Mediterranean areas
  • FARMING SYSTEMS - Sustainable farming systems under Mediterranean environmental constraints
  • AGRO-FOOD VALUE CHAIN - Sustainable Mediterranean agro-food value chain for regional and local development.

Die Projekte aus den Ausschreibungen werden zum Teil zentral aus Mitteln der EU-Kommission gefördert ("Call Section 1") und zum Teil dezentral aus Mitteln der jeweils beteiligten Länder ("Call Section 2"). Weitere Informationen und Details zu den Ausschreibungen sind verfügbar auf der PRIMA Webseite.

Die Ergebnisse der ersten Ausschreibung wurden am 11. Dezember 2018 veröffentlicht.

Am 4. Dezember hat das PRIMA-Sekretariat zu der zweiten Ausschreibung einen Info Day veranstaltet.