Societal Challenges

logo

Food Security, Sustainable Agriculture and Forestry, Marine, Maritime and Inland Water Research, and the Bio-economy 2018-2020

On 27 October 2017 the European Commission has published the Work Programme 2018-2020 containing new calls for proposals in the Societal Challenge “Food security, sustainable agriculture and forestry, marine, maritime and inland water research and the bioeconomy”. The overall budget for the 2018 call is EUR 459.46 million. For the calls in 2019 EUR 483.12 million will be available. For the calls in 2020 the Work Programme shows only a list of topic titles and an indicative total budget of EUR 391.10 million.

The Societal Challenge 2 Work Programme focuses on the sustainable management of land and waters to secure healthy food as well as on the delivery of public goods such as biodiversity and clean water. Furthermore, it supports innovative food and marine industries, the bioeconomy and dynamic rural areas.

The calls for proposals are structured according to the following research priorities:

  • Sustainable Food Security
    • From functional ecosystems to healthy food
    • Environment and climate-smart food production and consumption
    • Building capacities
    • Targeted international cooperation
  • Blue Growth
  • Rural Renaissance

The research priorities are composed of "topics", which are outlined in detail in the Work Programme and must be fully considered in setting up the research proposals.

Proposal submission

Submission for the individual topics of the Call 2018 will open on 31 October 2017 on the Participant Portal. The work programme for Societal Challenge 2 contains one- and two stage submission procedures

Deadline one-stage submission

  • 13 February 2018

Deadline two-stage submission

  • Stage 1: 13 February 2018
  • Stage 2: 11 September 2018

[pagebreak]

Specific aspects:

The present work programme of Societal Challenge 2 must be considered in the context of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and the COP 21 Paris Climate Agreement. Many of the topics refer explicitely to individual SDGs and/or climate goals.

Furthermore, the activities should help implement important EU policies and initiatives such as the EU Common Agricultural Policy and European Innovation Partnership for Agricultural Productivity and Sustainability (EIP AGRI), the EU Bioeconomy Strategy, the Circular Economy Package, the EU Integrated Maritime Policy and the EU Common Fisheries Policy.

A number of topics in the three calls contribute to the  Focus Areas "Low Carbon", "Circular Economy" and "Digitisation", which are implemente across the different Societal Challenges.

As many of the challenges addressed in this Work Programme are of global nature, international cooperation is an important aspect of implementation. In the area of “Sustainable Food Security” the support for flagships initiatives with China and Africa on Food and Nutrition Security and Sustainable Agriculture will be continued. In the area of „Blue Growth“ a flagship initiative for the South Atlantic Ocean, paving the way towards an 'All Atlantic Ocean Research Alliance', as well as a flagship on the “Future of Seas and Oceans” will be launched, and the cooperation with partners in other regions such as the Baltic Sea and the North Sea, the Mediterranean and the Black Sea reinforced.

Several topics include a suggestion for coordination between projects financed under the same or related topics. Such coordination allows organising clusters of projects working on similar issues, to avoid duplication of efforts and to enable cross-fertilisation and synergies.

[pagebreak]

European Innovation Council: Fast Track to Innovation und KMU-Instrument

The Pilot initiative ‚European Innovation Council‘ comprises calls for the financing instruments SME instrument (EIC-SME instrument call/H2020-EIC-SMEInst-2018-2020) and Fast Track to Innovation (EIC-Fast-Track-to-Innovation/H2020-EIC-FTI-2018-2020) which are found under the Horizon 2020 Work Programme Part – Towards the next EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation: European Innovation Council (EIC) Pilot" (part 17 of this Work Programme).

Please consider:

The two year Work Programme 2018 - 2020 is quite complex in terms of funding objectives, funding schemes, proposal submission procedures and deadlines.

All information on the call, the detailed call description and important guidance for applicants in the "Horizon 2020 Grants Manual" are available online on the Participant Portal and should be read carefully. Topics, rules for submission (budgets, deadlines, funding schemes) as well as information on the evaluation procedure are available in General Annex of the Work Programme.

Societal Challenges

logo

Food Security, Sustainable Agriculture and Forestry, Marine, Maritime and Inland Water Research, and the Bio-economy 2018-2020

Die Europäische Kommission hat am 27. Oktober 2017 das Arbeitsprogramm für die Societal Challenge „Food security, sustainable agriculture and forestry, marine, maritime and inland water research and the bioeconomy“ mit einem Budget von 459,46 Millionen EUR für das Jahr 2018 veröffentlicht. Für die Ausschreibungen 2019 werden voraussichtlich insgesamt 483,12 Millionen EUR zur Verfügung stehen. Für das Jahr 2020 umfasst das Arbeitsprogramm, das im Sommer 2019 erarbeitet wird, lediglich eine Liste mit Topic-Überschriften mit einem indikativen Gesamtbudget von 391,10 Millionen EUR.

Ziel der Societal Challenge 2 ist die ausreichende Versorgung einer wachsenden Weltbevölkerung mit sicheren, gesunden und hochwertigen Nahrungsmitteln und anderen biobasierten Produkten. Damit verbunden ist der Ausbau produktiver, nachhaltiger und ressourcenschonender Systeme der Primärproduktion (Agrar- und Forstwirtschaft und Fischerei), die Pflege der dazugehörigen Ökosystemleistungen sowie die Etablierung wettbewerbsfähiger Versorgungsketten mit niedrigem CO2-Ausstoß.

Ausschreibungen

Das Arbeitsprogramm 2018-20 umfasst folgende Aufrufe zur Einreichung von Vorschlägen

  • Sustainable Food Security
    • From functional ecosystems to healthy food
    • Environment and climate-smart food production and consumption
    • Building capacities
    • Targeted international cooperation
  • Blue Growth
  • Rural Renaissance

Die Förderschwerpunkte setzen sich aus einzelnen Topics (Projektthemen) zusammen, die im Arbeitsprogramm detailliert beschrieben sind und in den Projektvorschlägen jeweils aufgegriffen werden müssen.

Antragsverfahren:

Die Einreichungsfrist für die einzelnen Topics des Aufrufs 2018 wird ab dem 31. Oktober 2017 auf dem Participant Portal starten. Das Arbeitsprogramm für Societal Challenge 2 enthält sowohl ein- als auch zweistufige Antragsverfahren.

Einreichungsfrist bei Themen im einstufigen Verfahren:

  • 13. Februar 2018

Einreichungsfristen bei Themen im zweistufigen Verfahren:

  • Erste Stufe: 13. Februar 2018
  • Zweite Stufe: 11. September 2018

[pagebreak]

Besonderheiten:

Das vorliegende Arbeitsprogramm der Societal Challenge 2 steht im Kontext der internationalen Bemühungen im Rahmen der Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) und des COP 21 Paris Klimaabkommens.

Entsprechende bezieht sich der Großteil der Topics jeweils spezifisch auf individuelle SDGs und/oder Klimaziele, die in den Projektvorschlägen aufgegriffen werden müssen. Zudem sollen die geförderten Aktivitäten zur Gemeinsamen EU-Agrarpolitik, der EU Bioeconomy Strategy, dem Circular Economy Package, der Integrierten Meerespolitik und der Gemeinsamen Fischereipolitik der EU beitragen.

Eine Reihe von Topics in den drei Ausschreibungen tragen zu den Focus Areas "Low Carbon", "Circular Economy" und "Digitisation" bei, die übergreifend in den verschiedenen Societal Challenges implementiert werden.

Da die Herausforderungen, die in den kommenden Ausschreibungen adressiert werden, globaler Natur sind, spielt die internationale Kooperation eine wichtige Rolle. Hierbei wird im Bereich “Sustainable Food Security” die Unterstützung für die Flagship-Initiativen mit China und Afrika für “Food and Nutrition Security and Sustainable Agriculture“ fortgesetzt. Zudem wird im Bereich „Blue Growth“ eine Flagship-Initiative für den Südatlantik zur Vorbereitung einer „All Atlantic Ocean Research Alliance“ sowie eine Flagship-Initiative “Future of Seas and Oceans” initiiert und die Kooperation mit Partnern in den Regionen der Ost- und Nordsee, dem Mittelmeer und dem Schwarzen Meer verstärkt.

Einige Topics enthalten die Aufforderung von Koordinierungsaktivitäten zwischen Projekten, die unter demselben oder verwandten Topics gefördert werden, um Mehrfachaufwände für einzelne Bereiche zu verhindern und Synergien und Austausch zu ermöglichen.

[pagebreak]

European Innovation Council: Fast Track to Innovation und KMU-Instrument

Die Pilotinitiative European Innovation Council umfasst Aufrufe für das KUM-Instrument (EIC-SME instrument/H2020-EIC-SMEInst-2018-2020) und das Förderinstrument Fast Track to Innovation (EIC-Fast-Track-to-Innovation/H2020-EIC-FTI-2018-2020). Diese Aufrufe befinden sich im Arbeits-programmteil „Towards the next EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation: European Innovation Council (EIC) Pilot" (Teil 17 des Arbeitsprogramms).

Bitte beachten Sie:

Alle Ausschreibungen und Dokumente sind auf dem Participant Portal verfügbar. Das zweijährige Arbeitsprogramm 2018-2020 ist bezüglich der Förderschwerpunkte, der Förderformen, der Antragsverfahren und der Einreichungsfristen sehr vielfältig. Konsultieren Sie daher bitte die ergänzenden Dokumente, d.h. die Hinweise im Leitfaden zur Antragseinreichung und Evaluierung im „Horizon 2020 Grants Manual“ sowie weitere Dokumente auf dem Participant Portal. Das Participant Portal stellt außerdem Informationen zu den einzelnen Ausschreibungen zur Verfügung.

Wichtige grundsätzliche Teilnahmevoraussetzungen sowie Erläuterungen zum Begutachtungsverfahren finden Sie im „General Annex“ des Arbeitsprogramms 2018-2020.

Beachten Sie, dass für die Beteiligung an Horizon 2020 eine vorherige Registrierung beim Participant Portal erforderlich ist.