Industrial Leadership

logo

Space 2018-2020

On 27 October 2017, the European Commission has published the Work Programme 2018-2020 for "Leadership in Enabling and Industrial Technologies – Space". The overall budget for the 2018 call is EUR 104 million. For the calls in 2019 there will be EUR 121 million available. For the calls in 2020 a budget of 144 million is foreseen, the Work Programme 2020, which will be prepared in detail in summer 2019 just shows the titles of topics and the budget.

The aim of "Leadership in Enabling and Industrial Technologies – Space" is to maximising the benefits of space for society and the EU economy; to foster a globally competitive and innovative European space sector; to reinforce Europe’s autonomy in accessing and using space in a secure and safe environment and to strength Europe’s role as a global actor and promoting international cooperation.

Publication:

The publication comprises the following calls:

  • Space 2018-2020
    • Earth observation
    • Space business, entrepreneurship, outreach and education
    • Space technologies, science and exploration
    • Secure and safe space environment
  • EGNSS market uptake 2019-2020

Rules for submission:

The calls are composed of "topics", which are outlined in detail in the Work Programme 2018-2020 and must be integrated into the research proposals. Topics for 2018 will open on 31 October 2017 on the Participant Portal, topics for 2019 will open on 16 October 2018.

Proposal submission: one-stage submission

[pagebreak]

Other information:

European Innovation Council (EIC) prize: "Low cost Space Launch"

The challenge is to develop a European technologically non-dependent solution for launching light satellites into Low-Earth Orbit, which will enable dedicated low-cost launches with committed schedule and orbit. The budget for this prize includes EUR 10 million, of which EUR 5 million come from the "Leadership in Enabling and Industrial Technologies -Space" Work Programme and EUR 5 million from the "Access to Risk Finance" Work Programme.

Details of the European Innovation Council (EIC) prize: "Low cost Space Launch" can be found in part 17 of the Work Programme "Towards the next EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation: European Innovation Council (EIC) Pilot".

InnovFin Space Equity Pilot (ISEP)

To help improve access to risk finance for innovative enterprises in the space domain, ISEP will invest in venture capital and other risk-capital funds focused on innovative SMEs and small midcaps that aim to commercialise new products and services linked to space data and space technologies. The budget for this pilot includes EUR 6 million from the 2018 budget, EUR 7 million from the 2019 budget and EUR 7 million from the 2020 budget.

Technology Readiness Level (TRL)

Low (< 4) and mid (4-9) TRL are only mentioned in the context of the topics under "Space technologies, science and exploration", which support generic and mission-oriented R&D technology to address non-dependence and competitiveness of the European Space industry. Proposals should address the given TLR and classify the expected results according to the TRL scale.

Please consider:

The three year Work Programme 2018-2020 is particularly complex in terms of funding objectives, funding schemes, proposal submission procedures and deadlines.

In addition to the Work Programme "Leadership in Enabling and Industrial Technologies – Space", the other Work Programmes under Horizon 2020 should be consulted for further topics which relate to the call and research priorities of the Space sector.

All information on the call, the detailed call description and important guidance for applicants in the "Horizon 2020 Grants Manual" are available online on the Participant Portal and should be read carefully. Topics, rules for submission (budgets, deadlines, funding schemes) as well as information on the evaluation procedure are available in the General Annex of the Work Programme.

Please note that a prior registration at ECAS via the participant portal is necessary to submit a proposal.

Industrial Leadership

logo

Space 2018-2020

Die Europäische Kommission hat am 27. Oktober 2017 das Arbeitsprogramm 2018-2020 für den Programmteil „Leadership in Enabling and Industrial Technologies – Space“  mit einem Budget von 104 Millionen EUR für das Jahr 2018 veröffentlicht. Für die Ausschreibungen 2019 werden insgesamt 121 Millionen EUR zur Verfügung stehen. Für die Aufrufe im Jahr 2020 sollen 144 Millionen Euro zur Verfügung stehen; das Arbeitsprogramm, dass im Sommer 2019 im Detail erarbeitet wird, umfasst bisher nur die Überschriften von möglichen Topics und deren Budget.

Ziel des Programms „Leadership in Enabling and Industrial Technologies – Space“ ist es, die Vorteile der Weltraumforschung für die europäische Gesellschaft und die europäische Wirtschaft zu maximieren; einen weltweiten wettbewerbsfähigen und innovativen europäischen Raumfahrtsektor zu fördern; Europas Autonomie beim Zugang und bei der Nutzung von Space in einer sicheren Umgebung zu stärken und die Rolle Europas als globaler Akteur zu festigen sowie die internationale Zusammenarbeit zu unterstützen.

Ausschreibung:

Die Ausschreibung umfasst folgende Aufrufe:

  • Space 2018-2020
    • Earth observation
    • Space business, entrepreneurship, outreach and education
    • Space technologies, science and exploration
    • Secure and safe space environment
  • EGNSS market uptake 2019-2020

Ausschreibungsart:

Die Förderschwerpunkte setzen sich aus einzelnen Topics (Projektthemen) zusammen, die im Arbeitsprogramm 2018-2020 beschrieben sind und in den Projektvorschlägen jeweils aufgegriffen werden müssen. Die offizielle Öffnung der Topics 2018 wird am 31. Oktober 2017 auf dem Participant Portal erfolgen, die für 2019 am 16. Oktober 2018.

Antragsverfahren: einstufig

[pagebreak]

Besonderheiten:

European Innovation Council (EIC) prize: „Low cost Space Launch“

Ziel dieser Ausschreibung ist es, eine europäische technologisch unabhängige Lösung für die Einführung von Lichtsatelliten in den Low-Earth-Orbit zu entwickeln, mit der gezielt Low-Cost-Starts möglich sein werden. Das Budget für diesen Preis umfasst 10 Million EUR, wovon 5 Millionen EUR aus dem „Leadership in Enabling and Industrial Technologies – Space“  Arbeitsprogramm stammen und 5 Millionen EUR aus dem „Access to Risk Finance“ Arbeitsprogramm.

Die Details zum European Innovation Council (EIC) prize: „Low cost Space Launch“ finden sich im Teil 17 des Arbeitsprogramms „Towards the next EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation: European Innovation Council (EIC) Pilot“.

InnovFin Space Equity Pilot (ISEP)

Um den Zugang zu Risikofinanzierungen für innovative Unternehmen im Weltraumbereich zu verbessern, wird das Finanzinstrument ISEP ab dem dritten Quartal 2018  in Risikokapitalfonds investieren, die auf innovative KMU und kleine Mid Caps ausgerichtet sind, die wiederum zum Ziel haben, neue Produkte und Dienstleistungen im Zusammenhang mit Weltraumdaten und Weltraumtechnologien zu vermarkten. Das Budget für diesen Piloten umfasst 6 Million EUR aus dem 2018 Budget, 7 Millionen EUR aus dem 2019 Budget und 7 Millionen EUR aus dem 2020 Budget.

Technology Readiness Level (TRL)

Niedrige (< 4) und mittlere (4-9) TRL  werden nur im Zusammenhang mit den Topics unter „Space technologies, science and exploration“ erwähnt, die die Unterstützung von generischer und missionarischer Space-Technologien zum Ziel haben, um die Unabhängigkeit und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der europäischen Raumfahrtindustrie zu stärken. Programmvorschläge sollten die vorgegebenen TLR beachten und die zu erwartenden Projektergebnisse gemäß der TRL-Skala einordnen.

Bitte beachten Sie:

Alle Ausschreibungen und für eine Antragseinreichung notwendigen Dokumente sind auf dem Participant Portal verfügbar. Das Portal ermöglicht es u.a. auch, eine thematische Suche im gesamten Horizon 2020 Programm anhand der einzelnen Programmteile oder mit Hilfe von Stichworten durchzuführen.

Zusätzlich zum Arbeitsprogramm „Leadership in enabling and industrial technologies - Space“ sollten auch die anderen Arbeitsprogramme unter Horizon 2020 konsultiert werden, da diese für den Bereich Space ebenfalls relevante Themen und Ausschreibungen enthalten können.

Das dreijährige Arbeitsprogramm 2018-2020 ist bezüglich der Förderschwerpunkte, der Förderformen, der Antragsverfahren und der Einreichungsfristen äußerst vielfältig. Konsultieren Sie daher bitte die ergänzenden Dokumente, d.h. die Hinweise im Leitfaden zur Antragseinreichung und Evaluierung im „Horizon 2020 Grants Manual“ sowie weitere Dokumente auf dem Participant Portal. Das Participant Portal stellt außerdem Informationen zu den einzelnen Ausschreibungen zur Verfügung.

Wichtige grundsätzliche Teilnahmevoraussetzungen sowie Erläuterungen zum Begutachtungsverfahren finden Sie im „General Annex“ des Arbeitsprogramms 2018-2020.

Beachten Sie, dass für die Beteiligung an Horizon 2020 eine vorherige Registrierung im Participant Portal erforderlich ist.