Industrial Leadership

logo

Nanotechnologies, Materials, Biotechnologies and Production 2018-2020

On 27 October 2017 the European Commission has published the Work Programme 2018-2020 for “Leadership in Enabling and Industrial Technologies –  Nanotechnologies, Materials, Biotechnologies and Production". The overall budget for the 2018 call is approx. EUR 534 million. For the calls in 2019 there will be approx. EUR 545 million available. For the calls in 2020 a budget of approx. EUR 572 million is foreseen, the Work Programme 2020, which will be prepared in detail in summer 2019 just shows the titles of topics without description.

The aim of ”Nanotechnologies, Materials, Biotechnologies and Production” is to contribute to the leading role as well as to the global competitiveness and growth of the European industry.

Calls

The Work Programme comprises the following research priorities:

  • Foundations for tomorrow´s industry ,

    • Open Innovation Test Beds
    • Materials Characterisation and Computational Modelling
    • Governance, Science-Based Risk Assessment and Regulatory Aspects
  • Transforming European Industry

    • Factories of the Future (FoF)
    • Medical Technology Innovations
  • Industrial Sustainability

    • Sustainable Process Industry (SPIRE)
    • Catalysing the Circular Economy
    • Clean Energy through Innovative Materials
    • Cultural Heritage
    • Energy-efficient Buildings (EeB)

[pagebreak]

Rules for submission: The research priorities are composed of 'topics', which are outlined in detail in the Work Programme. Research proposals have to respond to the content of the topic.

Submission procedure

  • Proposal submission for one-stage submission: 22 February 2018
  • Deadlines for two-stage submission procedure:
  • Deadline for stage 1 proposals: 23 January 2018
  • Deadlines for stage 2 proposals: 28 June 2018

[break]

To notice:

  • Open Innovation Test Beds (OITB): The call 'Foundations for Tomorrow's Industry' supports so-called 'Open Innovation Test Beds' for the development and upscaling of advanced materials and nanotechnologies, combining digital, chemical and physical advances for innovative new products and services. OITBs are physical facilities, established in at least three Member States and Associated Countries, brining nanotechnology and advanced materials within the reach of companies and users. The TRL cover nearly the entire value chain from validation in a laboratory (TRL 4) to prototypes in industrial environment (TRL 7). Proposals have to include a business case and exploitation strategies when submitted.

  • Pilot Action 50% Funding: some topics for 'Innovation Actions', covering high-cost demonstrators integrating several different technologies in industrial settings and reaching Technology Readiness Level 7, provide for funding at 50% for profit-making entities (instead of 70% rate for Innovation Actions)

  • Inducement Prices: The NMBP part of Horizon 2020 provides funding for two prizes under the European Innovation Council:

    • EIC Horizon Prize for 'Innovative Batteries for eVehicles'

    • EIC Horizon Price for 'Affordable High-Tech for Humantarian Aid'

  • International Cooperation: for some topics cooperation with Third Countries seems appropriate, e.g. countries from the European Neighbourhood Policy, such as Eastern Partnerships Countries in SPIRE topics (e.g. Ukraine, Moldova, Georgia, Armenia, Aserbaijan, Belorus), or the Broader Partnership Countries (e.g. Iran und Iraq) which could be integrated, such as in CE-NMBP-24-2018. Topic CE-BIOTEC-04-2018 'New biotechnologies for environmental remediation' is part of the EU-China-Flagship 'Biotechnology for Environment and Human Health', which supports a coordinated and belanced R&I-Cooperation between the EU and China. Chinese project partners have the possibility to apply funding under the Chinese co-funding mechanism and other Chinese sources.

[pagebreak]

European Innovation Council: Fast Track to Innovation und KMU-Instrument

The Pilot initiative ‚European Innovation Council‘ comprises calls for the financing instruments SME instrument (EIC-SME instrument call/H2020-EIC-SMEInst-2018-2020) and Fast Track to Innovation (EIC-Fast-Track-to-Innovation/H2020-EIC-FTI-2018-2020) which are found under the Horizon 2020 Work Programme Part – Towards the next EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation: European Innovation Council (EIC) Pilot" (part 20 of this Work Programme).

Please consider:

The two year Work Programme 2018 - 2020 is quite complex in terms of funding objectives, funding schemes, proposal submission procedures and deadlines.

All information on the call, the detailed call description and important guidance for applicants in the "Horizon 2020 Grants Manual" are available online on the Participant Portal and should be read carefully. Topics, rules for submission (budgets, deadlines, funding schemes) as well as information on the evaluation procedure are available in General Annex of the Work Programme.

Industrial Leadership

logo

Nanotechnologies, Materials, Biotechnologies and Production 2018-2020

Die Europäische Kommission hat am 27. Oktober 2017 das Arbeitsprogramm für den Programmteil 'Leadership in Enablind and Industrial Technologies' „Nanotechnologies, Materials, Biotechnologies and Production“  mit einem Budget von 534 Millionen EUR für das Jahr 2018 veröffentlicht. Für die Ausschreibungen 2019 werden insgesamt 545 Millionen EUR zur Verfügung stehen. Für die Aufrufe im Jahr 2020 sollen 572 Millionen Euro zur Verfügung stehen. Das Arbeitsprogramm, das im Sommer 2019 im Detail erarbeitet wird, umfasst bisher nur die Überschriften von möglichen Topics ohne Beschreibungen.

Die Förderung der Schlüsseltechnologien im Rahmen von Horizon 2020 soll zur führenden Rolle der europäischen Industrie im globalen Wettbewerb und zur Steigerung des Wachstums in Europa beitragen.

Ausschreibung

Die Ausschreibung umfasst folgende Aufrufe:

  • Foundations for tomorrow´s industry 

    • Open Innovation Test Beds
    • Materials Characterisation and Computational Modelling
    • Governance, Science-Based Risk Assessment and Regulatory Aspects
  • Transforming European Industry

    • Factories of the Future (FoF)
    • Medical Technology Innovations
  • Industrial Sustainability

    • Sustainable Process Industry (SPIRE)
    • Catalysing the Circular Economy
    • Clean Energy through Innovative Materials
    • Cultural Heritage
    • Energy-efficient Buildings (EeB)

[pagebreak]

Antragsverfahren:

  • Ende der Einreichungsfrist bei Themen im einstufigen Verfahren: 22. Februar 2018
  • Ende der Einreichungsfristen bei Themen im zweistufigen Verfahren:
  • Erste Stufe: 23. Januar 2018
  • Zweite Stufe: 28. Juni 2018

Ausnahmen:

Einstufiges Verfahren:

  • CE-BIOTEC-04-2018 New biotechnologies for environmental remediation (RIA):

Aufruf 31. Oktober 2017; Einstufiges Verfahren mit Fristende 25. April 2018

  • DT-NMBP-20-2018 A digital ‚plug and produce‘ online equipment platform for manufacturing (IA):

Aufruf 28. November 2017; Einstufiges Verfahren mit Fristende 08. März 2018

Zu beachten:

Einzelne Topics weichen hinsichtlich Fördervolumen, Art und Anzahl von Teilnehmern, u.a. von den allgemeinen Beteiligungsregeln ab. Weiterhin gibt es unterschiedliche Schwellenwerte bei einigen Topics. Diese Abweichungen und Unterschiede sind im Kapitel ‚Conditions for the Call‘ aufgeführt.

Besonderheiten:

  • Open Innovation Test Beds (OITB): Der Aufruf 'Foundations for Tomorrow's Industry' fördert sog. 'Open Innovation Test Beds' für die Entwicklung und das Upscaling fortgeschrittener Materialien und Nanotechnologien, in dem durch die Zusammenführung von digitalen, chemischen und physikalischen Fortschritten innovative neue Produkte und Dienstleistungen generiert werden. OITB sind Einrichtungen in mindestens drei Mitgliedstaaten und Assoziierten Ländern, die Nanotechnologie und fortgeschrittene Materialien näher an Unternehmen und Nutzergruppen heranführen sollen. Die Technologiereife umfasst nahezu die Wertschöpfungskette ab der Laborvalidierung (TRL 4) bis zum Prototypen in industrieller Umgebung (TRL 7). Vorschläge müssen bei der Einreichung solide Geschäftspläne und Nutzungsstrategien entwickelt haben.

  • Pilotaktion 50%-Finanzierung: in einige Topics für 'Innovation Actions', die kostenintensive Demonstratoren unter Beteiligung verschiedener Technologien in industrieller Umgebung abdecken, und das Technologiereifeniveau 7 (TRL 7) erreichen sollen, werden gewinnorientierte Einrichtungen statt 70% Förderung, nur mit bis zu 50% Förderung erhalten.

  • Inducement Prices: Das Horizon 2020-Teilprogramm NMBP sieht eine finanzielle Unterstützung für zwei Preise im Rahmen des European Innovation Council vor:

    • EIC Horizon Prize for 'Innovative Batteries for eVehicles'

    • EIC Horizon Price for 'Affordable High-Tech for Humantarian Aid'

  • Internationale Kooperation: Einige Topics sind ausgewiesen für eine Kooperation mit Drittstaaten, von denen einige auch bestimmten Drittstaatengruppen der Europäischen Nachbarschaftspolitik, wie etwa die Länder der Östliche Partnerschaftsstaaten (u.a. Ukraine, Moldawien, Georgien, Armenien, Aserbaidschan, Weißrussland), oder der Erweiterten Partnerschaftsstaaten (z.B. Iran und Irak) sollten einbezogen werden (z.B. CE-NMBP-24-2018). Topic CE-BIOTEC-04-2018 'New biotechnologies for environmental remediation' ist Teil der EU-China-Leitinitiative 'Biotechnology for Environment and Human Health', in deren Rahmen eine koordinierte und ausgewogene F&I-Kooperation zwischen der EU und China gefördert wird. Chinesische Projektpartner können Fördermittel im Rahmen des chinesischen Kofinanzierungsmechanismus' als auch bei anderen chinesischen Fördergebern beantragen.

Ausschreibungsart: Die Förderschwerpunkte setzen sich aus einzelnen Topics (Projektthemen) zusammen, die im Arbeitsprogramm beschrieben sind und in den Projektvorschlägen jeweils aufgegriffen werden müssen.

[pagebreak]

European Innovation Council: Fast Track to Innovation und KMU-Instrument

Die Pilotinitiative European Innovation Council umfasst Aufrufe für das KMU-Instrument (EIC-SME instrument/H2020-EIC-SMEInst-2018-2020) und das Förderinstrument Fast Track to Innovation (EIC-Fast-Track-to-Innovation/H2020-EIC-FTI-2018-2020). Diese Aufrufe befinden sich im Arbeitsprogrammteil „Towards the next EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation: European Innovation Council (EIC) Pilot" (Teil 20 des Arbeitsprogramms).

Bitte beachten Sie:

Alle Ausschreibungen und die für eine Antragseinreichung notwendigen Dokumente sind auf dem Participant Portal verfügbar. Das Portal ermöglicht es u.a. auch, eine thematische Suche im gesamten Horizon 2020 Programm anhand der einzelnen Programmteile oder mit Hilfe von Stichworten durchzuführen.

Das zweijährige Arbeitsprogramm 2018-2020 ist bezüglich der Förderschwerpunkte, der Förderformen, der Antragsverfahren und der Einreichungsfristen äußerst vielfältig. Konsultieren Sie daher bitte die ergänzenden Dokumente, d.h. die Hinweise im Leitfaden zur Antragseinreichung und Evaluierung im „Horizon 2020 Grants Manual“ sowie weitere Dokumente auf dem Participant Portal. Das Participant Portal stellt außerdem Informationen zu den einzelnen Ausschreibungen zur Verfügung.

Wichtige grundsätzliche Teilnahmevoraussetzungen sowie Erläuterungen zum Begutachtungsverfahren finden Sie im „General Annex“ des Arbeitsprogramms 2018-2020.

Beachten Sie, dass für die Beteiligung an Horizon 2020 eine vorherige Registrierung beim Participant Portal erforderlich ist.