Transport

logo

Background

The Societal Challenge "Transport" concerns the areas of air, road, rail and maritime and inland water transport and its results are expected to contribute significantly to the political objectives of the European Union.

The desing of this programme is mainly based on the political framework of the White Paper "Roadmap to a Single European Transport Area – Towards a competitive and resource efficient transport system". The aim of this White Paper is the improvement of mobility and the removal of obstacles in key areas, thereby contributing to more growth and employment. At the same time Europe's dependency on the import of oil is to be reduced drastically and transport carbon emissions are to be reduced by 60% until 2050. Another important goal is the significant reduction of fatal traffic accidents in Europe (Vision Zero).

Research and innovation funded under Horizon 2020 is expected to contribute to the achievement of the following important 2050 goals:

  • complete phase-out of "conventionally-fuelled" cars in urban transport
  • low-carbon sustainable fuels in aviation to reach 40%
  • reduction of EU CO2 emissions from maritime bunker fuels by 40%
  • shift of 50% of road freight on medium distances to other modes such as rail or waterborne transport

therewith

  • reduction of overall transport emissions by 60%.

The individual objectives of the different areas are defined by a multitude of transport-related strategic and political documents, e.g. concerning the European Rail Traffic Management System, the creation of an European Maritime Transport Space EMTS or the Sustainable Urban Mobility Plans (SUMPs). All these policies and strategies can be found on the website of the Directorate-General Mobility and Transport.

[pagebreak]The five European Technology Platforms (ETPs) also play an important role within programming and strategic alignment:

The European Commission has established a European Innovation Partnership (EIP) on the interdisciplinary subject "Smart Cities and Communities". It aims at linking stakeholders from industry, research and cities and communities to coordinate and design activities within the domains energy, transport and ICT.

The decision on the third wave of measures of the European Institute of Technology includes the plan for the creation of a Knowledge and Innovation Community (KIC) "Urban Mobility" in 2018.

Within the European Commission, the competence for European transport policy lies with the Diretorate-General Mobility and Transport, which also manages the implementation of the activities within the area "Intelligent Transport Systems" of this Societal Challenge. DG Climate Action, DG Environment, DG Communication Networks and DG Enterprise and Industry are also involved.

If you have any questions concerning these stakeholders, networks and committees, please do not hesitate to contact us!

Transport

logo

Hintergrund und Akteure

Die Societal Challenge "Transport" bezieht sich auf die Verkehrsarten Luft, Straße, Schiene sowie Meeres- und Binnenschifffahrt. Die Verkehrsforschung soll Ergebnisse erzielen, die wesentlich zur Erreichung der politischen Ziele der Europäischen Union beitragen.

Den politischen Hintergrund bildet im Wesentlichen das Weißbuch "Fahrplan zu einem einheitlichen europäischen Verkehrsraum – Hin zu einem wettbewerbsorientierten und ressourcenschonenden Verkehrssystem". Es sieht die Verbesserung der Mobilität und die Beseitigung wesentlicher Hindernisse in Schlüsselbereichen vor, um auf diese Weise zu mehr Wachstum und Beschäftigung beizutragen. Gleichzeitig soll u.a. Europas Abhängigkeit von Öleinfuhren drastisch verringert und die verkehrsbedingten CO2-Emissionen bis 2050 um 60% gesenkt werden. Ein weiteres Ziel ist die wesentliche Senkung der Anzahl tödlicher Verkehrsunfälle in Europa ("Vision Zero"). 

Die wichtigsten Ziele, zu deren Erreichung auch Horizon 2020 beitragen soll, sind für die einzelnen Verkehrsarten:

  • Keine mit konventionellem Kraftstoff betriebenen Pkw mehr in den Städten
  • Erreichung eines 40%-Anteils CO2-emissionsarmer nachhaltiger Flugkraft­stoffe
  • Verringerung der CO2-Emissionen von Schiffen um mindestens 40%
  • Verlagerung von 50% des Personen- und Güterverkehrs über mittlere Entfernungen zwischen Städten auf Eisenbahn und Schiffe; dadurch
  • Senkung der verkehrsbedingten Emissionen bis Mitte des Jahrhunderts um 60%.

Die spezifischen Ziele der jeweiligen Verkehrsart werden durch eine Vielzahl von verkehrsbezogenen strategischen und politischen Dokumenten definiert, etwa zum European Rail Traffic Management System, zur Schaffung eines European Maritime Transport Space EMTS oder die Sustainable Urban Mobility Plans (SUMPs). All diese Politiken und Strategien finden sich auf der Webseite der Generaldirektion Mobilität und Verkehr.

[pagebreak]Wichtige Akteure bei der strategischen Ausrichtung und Programmplanung  sind u.a. die thematisch relevanten European Technology Platforms (ETPs):

Zum interdisziplinären Thema "Smart Cities and Communities" hat die EU-Kommission eine European Innovation Partnership (EIP) eingerichtet, die die Akteure aus Industrie, Städten und Kommunen vernetzen und die Aktivitäten im Aktionsbereich zwischen Energie, Verkehr und IKT koordinieren und gestalten soll.

Für die dritte Welle von Maßnahmen des European Institute of Technology ist für 2018 die Schaffung einer Knowledge and Innovation Community (KIC) "Urban Mobility" beschlossen worden.

Innerhalb der Europäischen Kommission liegt die Zuständigkeit für die europäische Verkehrspolitik bei der Generaldirektion Mobiliät und Verkehr, die auch die Durchführung des Bereichs "Intelligent Transport Systems" innerhalb dieser Societal Challenge verwaltet. Mit Aspekten dieses Themas befasst sind zudem die GD Klimapolitik, die GD Umwelt, die GD Kommunikationsnetze und die GD Unternehmen und Industrie.

Wenn Sie Fragen zu den einzelnen hier aufgeführten Initiativen, Verbünden und Gremien haben, kontaktieren Sie uns!