ICT

logo

Topics

The six major activity lines of the ICT programme include the development of generic ICT-based solutions, products and services as well as application-driven ICT research and innovation agendas which will be supported in line with the relevant Societal Challenge. Furthermore, a significant part of the activities will be implemented by means of Public-Private Partnerships (PPP).

1. A New Generation of Components and Systems: Engineering of Advanced Embedded and Energy and Resource Efficient Components and Systems

The main objective in this area is to strengthen European leadership by means of smart as well as resource-efficient embedded components and systems. It also includes micro-nano-bio systems, thin, organic and large area electronics (TOLAE) and underlying technologies for the Internet of Things (IoT). Furthermore, the development of platforms to support the delivery of advanced services, sensors, smart, integrated and complex systems as well as cyber-physical systems will be provided.

These activity line’s topics are complementary to the activites of the Joint Undertaking "ECSEL".

2. Next Generation Computing: Advanced and Secure Computing Systems and Technologies, Including Cloud Computing

This area's objective is to use and to extend already existing capacities, inter alia, in processor and system architecture, interconnect and data localisation technologies, cloud computing, parallel computing and simulation software, especially for engineering applications of uncertainty quantification, risk analysis and decision in engineering.

These activity line’s topics are complementary to the activities of the Joint Undertaking "ECSEL", as well as to the Research Infrastructures programme of Part I, Excellent Science, and to the Joint Undertaking "EuroHPC High Performance Computing" (HPC).[pagebreak]

3. Future Internet: Software, Hardware, Infrastructures, Technologies and Services

The next generation internet is to be developed and designed in this activity line. It will facilitate the interconnection of numerous devices (Internet of Things, IoT) across operators and service providers. It also includes activities concerning networks, software and services, computer and network security, data protection und trust, wireless communication and fibre networks as well as immersive interactive multimedia services and the networked future enterprise.

This activity line also covers the topics defined by the PPP "Advanced 5G Network Infrastructures".

4. Content Technologies and Information Management: ICT for Digital Content, Cultural and Creative Industries

The objective of this area is to provide professionals and citizens with new tools to create, use and preserve all forms of digital content in any language and to model, analyse and visualise vast amounts of data (big data). This includes new technologies for language, learning, interaction, digital preservation, web design, content and analysis access, and also smart information management systems based on data extraction, machine learning, statistical data and visual computing technologies.

5. Advanced Interfaces and Robots: Robotics and Smart Spaces

The objective is to strengthen European leadership in industrial and service robotics, cognitive systems, advanced interfaces and smart spaces, as well as sentient machines. It includes the building on increased computing and networking performance and progress in building systems that can learn, adapt and react.

This activity line is driven by the PPP "Robotics".

6. Micro- and Nanoelectronics and Photonics: Key Enabling Technologies Related to Micro- and Nanoelectronics and to Photonics Covering also Quantum Technologies

By this activity line the leading market position of European industry in the area is to be supported. It includes research and innovation on advanced processes, pilot lines for fabrication, production technologies and demonstration actions to validate technology developments and innovative business models as well as technologies basing on progress in quantum physics.

The photonics section within this activity line is driven by the PPP "Photonics". The topics related to the section "Micro- and Nanoelectronics" are complementary to the activities of the Joint Undertaking "ECSEL".

In addition to these activity lines relevant cross-sectional issues will be set on the agenda, e.g. cyber security, user-oriented digital age or the Internet of Things (IoT). Furthermore, the ICT programme contributes topics to the PPP "Factories of the Future".

ICT

logo

Inhalte

Die sechs Tätigkeitsbereiche des Programms "Information and Communication Technologies" (ICT) umfassen die Entwicklung von generischen IKT-gestützten Lösungen, Produkten und Dienstleistungen sowie anwendungsorientierte IKT-Forschungs- und Innovationspläne, welche auch von den jeweiligen Societal Challenges unterstützt werden. Maßgebliche Themenbereiche werden zudem mit Hilfe von Public-Private Partnerships (PPP) implementiert.

1. A new generation of components and systems: Engineering of advanced embedded and energy and resource efficient components and systems

Die Entwicklung intelligenter und gleichzeitig ressourceneffizienter eingebetteter Komponenten und Systeme soll die europäische Führungsrolle in diesem Bereich stärken. Er beinhaltet auch Mikro-Nano-Biosysteme, dünne, organische und großflächige Elektronik (TOLAE) sowie grundlegende Technologien für das Internet der Dinge (IoT). Darüber hinaus wird die Entwicklung von Plattformen für die Erbringung fortgeschrittener Dienste, Sensoren, die Entwicklung intelligenter, integrierter und komplexer Systeme sowie cyber-physische Systeme unterstützt.  

Die Themen dieses Bereichs sind komplementär zu den Aktivitäten, die im Rahmen der Joint Undertaking "ECSEL" durchgeführt werden.

2. Next generation computing: Advanced and secure computing systems and technologies, including cloud computing

Ziel ist die Nutzung und der Ausbau bereits vorhandener Kapazitäten, u.a. in der Prozessor- und Systemarchitektur, bei Zusammenschaltungs- und Datenlokalisierungstechniken, Cloud Computing, Parallelrechentechnik und Simulationssoftware, im Besonderen auch für Anwendungen zur Quantifizierung von Unsicherheiten, Risikoanalyse und Entscheidungsfindung.

Themen in diesem Bereich sind komplementär zu den Aktivitäten des Joint Undertaking "ECSEL", der Forschungsinfrastrukturförderung  des Programmteils "Excellent Science" sowie des Joint Undertaking "EuroHPC High Performance Computing".[pagebreak]

3. Future Internet: software, hardware, infrastructures, technologies and services

Ziel in diesem Bereich ist die Entwicklung und Gestaltung des Internets der nächsten Generation. Dadurch wird die Zusammenschaltung zahlloser Geräte (Internet der Dinge, IoT) über Betreiber und Domänen hinweg ermöglicht. Der Themenbereich umfasst auch Aktivitäten in Bezug auf Netze, Software und Dienste, Computer- und Netzsicherheit, Datenschutz und Vertrauen, drahtlose Kommunikation und Glasfasernetze sowie immersive interaktive Multimedia-Dienste und das vernetzte Unternehmen der Zukunft.

Der Aktivitätsbereich umfasst auch die Ausschreibungen der PPP "Advanced 5G for Future Internet".

4. Content technologies and information management: ICT for digital content, cultural and creative industries

Berufliche Anwender und Bürger sollen neue Werkzeuge für die Schaffung, Nutzung und Bewahrung aller Arten digitaler Inhalte in allen Sprachen sowie für die Modellierung, Analyse und Visualisierung riesiger Datenmengen (big data) an die Hand bekommen. Dies umfasst neue Technologien für Sprache, Lernen, Interaktion, digitale Bewahrung, Web Design, Zugang zu Inhalten und Analyse, aber auch intelligente Informationsmanagementsysteme, beruhend auf Datenextraktion, maschinellem Lernen, statistischen Analysen und Bildinformatik.

5. Advanced interfaces and robots: Robotics and smart spaces

Die Führungsrolle Europas in den Gebieten Industrie- und Servicerobotik, kognitive Systeme, fortgeschrittene Schnittstellen und intelligente Räume sowie empfindungsfähige Maschinen soll mit diesem Bereich gestärkt werden. Es wird auf die gestiegene Rechen- und Vernetzungsleistung und auf Fortschritte beim Bau von lern-, anpassungs- und reaktionsfähigen Systemen aufgebaut.  

Der Aktivitätsbereich wird getragen von der PPP "Robotics".

6. Micro- and nanoelectronics and photonics: Key enabling technologies related to micro- and nanoelectronics and to photonics covering also quantum technologies

Mit der Förderung dieser Schlüsseltechnologie soll die führende Marktposition der europäischen Industrie gestärkt werden. Dazu gehören Forschung und Innovation in Bezug auf hochentwickelte Prozesse, Pilotlinien für die Fertigung, Produktionstechnologien und Demonstrationsmaßnahmen zur Validierung technologischer Neuentwicklungen und innovativer Geschäftsmodelle einschließlich Technologien auf Basis der Fortschritte im Bereich der Quantenphysik.

Der Teilbereich der Photonik in diesem Aktivitätsfeld wird organisiert von der PPP "Photonics". Die Themen im Teilbereich "Micro- and nanoelectronics" sind komplementär zu den Aktivitäten der Joint Undertaking "ECSEL".

 

Neben diesen Aktivitätsbereichen werden zusätzlich wichtige Querschnittsthemen aufgegriffen, so z.B. Cybersicherheit, nutzerorientiertes digitales Zeitalter oder das Internet der Dinge (IoT). Zudem trägt das ICT-Programm Topics zu den Aktivitäten der PPP "Factories of the Future" bei.