Excellence Science

logo

Future and Emerging Technologies 2018-2020

On 27 October 2017 the European Commission has published the Work Programme 2018-2020 containing new calls for proposals in the programme section Future and Emerging Technologies (FET). The overall budget for the 2018 call is EUR 434 million. For the calls in 2019 there will be EUR 535 million available. The indicative budget for the calls in 2020 is EUR 567 million.

The FET Work Programme comprises three different lines of action: FET Open, FET Proactive, and FET Flagships. The aim is to support fundamentally new research approaches and areas in the field of new technologies with high industrial and societal potential thus creating the ground for Europe’s future leadership.

Calls for proposals

The Work Programme comprises the following calls for proposals:

  • FET Open – Novel ideas for radically new technologies
  • FET Proactive – Boosting emerging technologies
  • FET Proactive – High Performance Computing
  • FET Flagships – Tackling grand interdisciplinary science and technology challenges

Rules for submission: The research priorities are composed of "topics", which are outlined in detail in the Work Programme and must be integrated into the research proposals. The first topics will officially be open for submission in the Participant Portal on 31 October 2017.

Submission procedure: The FET Work Programme included topics with a single as well as a two stage submission procedures with either deadlines or so-called “cut-off dates”.

Overview of most important aspects for 2018:

  • FET Open: single stage submission procedure, proposals for Research and Innovation Actions (RIA) may be submitted any time starting from 7 November 2017 and will be evaluated after four different cut-off dates until 2020. First cut-off date: 16 May 2018
  • FET Proactive: single stage submission procedure, deadlines for RIA as well as Coordination and Support Actions (CSA) will be 22 March 2018 and 15 May 2018 (High Performance Computing)
  • FET Flagships: single as well as two stage submission procedures, deadlines for FETFLAG-01-2018: Preparatory Actions for new FET Flagships (CSA): 20 February 2018 (first stage) and 18 September 2018 (second stage)

[pagebreak]

Further aspects

  • FET Open: the call is part of the European Innovation Council (EIC) pilot and should serve as an “exploratory engine”, the budget was substantially increased compared to Work Programme 2016-2017
  • FET Proactive: introduction of new technology topics as scope for project propoals (living technologies, socially interactive technologies, technologies related to time, artificial organs, micro-energy technologies, topological matter)
  • FET Flagships: the call comprises a ramp-up phase of the Quantum Technologies Flagship as well as preparatory actions for new flagships

Please consider:

The two year Work Programme 2018-2020 is quite complex in terms of funding objectives, funding schemes, proposal submission procedures and deadlines.

All information on the call, the detailed call description and important guidance for applicants in the "Horizon 2020 Grants Manual" are available online on the Participant Portal and should be read carefully. Topics, rules for submission (budgets, deadlines, funding schemes) as well as information on the evaluation procedure are available in General Annex of the Work Programme.

Excellence Science

logo

Future and Emerging Technologies 2018-2020

Die Europäische Kommission hat am 27. Oktober 2017 das Arbeitsprogramm 2018-2020 für Future and Emerging Technologies (FET) mit einem Budget von 434 Millionen EUR für das Jahr 2018 veröffentlicht. Für die Ausschreibungen 2019 und 2020 werden nach aktueller Indikation insgesamt 535 bzw. 567 Millionen EUR zur Verfügung stehen.

Das FET Arbeitsprogramm umfasst wie bisher drei Förderlinien: FET Open, FET Proactive und FET Flagships. Das Ziel ist es, grundlegend neue Forschungsansätze und -felder im Bereich neuer Technologien zu fördern, die großes industrielles und gesellschaftliches Potential haben. Damit soll die Basis für eine künftige Führungsrolle Europas geschaffen werden.

Ausschreibungen

Das Arbeitsprogramm umfasst folgende Aufrufe zur Einreichung von Vorschlägen

  • FET Open – Novel ideas for radically new technologies
  • FET Proactive – Boosting emerging technologies
  • FET Proactive – High Performance Computing
  • FET Flagships – Tackling grand interdisciplinary science and technology challenges

Ausschreibungsart: Die Förderschwerpunkte setzen sich aus einzelnen Topics (Projektthemen) zusammen, die im Arbeitsprogramm detailliert beschrieben sind und in den Projektvorschlägen jeweils aufgegriffen werden müssen. Die offizielle Öffnung der ersten Topics der Aufrufe 2018 wird ab dem 31. Oktober 2017 auf dem Participant Portal starten.

Antragsverfahren: Im FET Arbeitsprogramm gibt es je nach Topic sowohl ein- als auch zweistufige Einreichverfahren mit Einreichfristen (Deadlines) oder sog. „cut-off dates“. Die wichtigsten Informationen für 2018 im Überblick:

  • FET Open: einstufiges Verfahren, Projektvorschläge für Research and Innovation Actions (RIA) können ab dem 7. November 2017 laufend eingereicht werden und werden jeweils zu vier cut-off dates bis 2020 evaluiert. Erstes cut-off date: 16. Mai 2018
  • FET Proactive: einstufiges Verfahren, Deadline für RIA und Coordination and Support Actions (CSA): 22. März 2018 bzw. 15. Mai 2018 (High Performance Computing)
  • FET Flagships: ein- und zweistufige Verfahren, Deadlines für FETFLAG-01-2018: Preparatory Actions for new FET Flagships (CSA): 20. Februar 2018 (erste Stufe) und 18. September 2018 (zweite Stufe)

[pagebreak]

Besonderheiten

  • FET Open: der Call ist gleichzeitig Teil des European Innovation Council (EIC) Piloten und soll in diesem Kontext als „exploratory engine“ dienen, deutliche Budgeterhöhung im Vergleich zum Arbeitsprogramm 2016-2017
  • FET Proactive: neue Technologiebereiche als thematische Rahmenvorgaben für Projektanträge (living technologies, socially interactive technologies, technologies related to time, artificial organs, micro-energy technologies, topological matter)
  • FET Flagships: der Call enthält „ramp-up phase“ für das Quantum Technologies Flagship sowie vorbereitende Aktionen für neue Flagships

Bitte beachten Sie:

Alle Ausschreibungen und Dokumente sind auf dem Participant Portal verfügbar. Das zweijährige Arbeitsprogramm 2018-2020 ist bezüglich der Förderschwerpunkte, der Förderformen, der Antragsverfahren und der Einreichungsfristen sehr vielfältig. Konsultieren Sie daher bitte die ergänzenden Dokumente, d.h. die Hinweise im Leitfaden zur Antragseinreichung und Evaluierung im „Horizon 2020 Grants Manual“ sowie weitere Dokumente auf dem Participant Portal. Das Participant Portal stellt außerdem Informationen zu den einzelnen Ausschreibungen zur Verfügung.

Wichtige grundsätzliche Teilnahmevoraussetzungen sowie Erläuterungen zum Begutachtungsverfahren finden Sie im „General Annex“ des Arbeitsprogramms 2018-2020.

Beachten Sie, dass für die Beteiligung an Horizon 2020 eine vorherige Registrierung beim Participant Portal erforderlich ist.