teaser

Horizon 2020

Governance

Research funding within Horizon 2020 is conducted through a series of different project types, which partly differ considerably with regard to the funding governance. As an underlying principle, the European Commission gradually externalises the operational funding business over the decades: With increasing frequency, the European Commission devolves funding activities upon external bodies, instead of acting as the funding body itself. For Horizon 2020, the share of the externalised budget is supposed to rise up to 80%. This leads to the following classifications with regard to Horizon 2020:   

Funding through the European Commission

In these cases, applications for funding are submitted to the European Commission, and it is the Commission who will organise the evaluation, grant funding, audit the projects and who is in charge of accounting. Under Horizon 2020, such cases will be an exception; the implementation of the parts "Science with and for Society" and "Widening Participation", for example, will probably remain under the control of the Commission.

Funding through so-called Executive Agencies of the European Commission

Within these procedures, the executive funding bodies are legally independent "spin-offs" of the Commission, which finance and implement the projects. Under FP7, such executive agencies have been established in the programmes ERC and MSCA in particular. Horizon 2020 foresees up to five executive agencies, which will also be in charge of great parts of the collaborative research.

Public-Private Partnerships (PPP)

In the context of Horizon 2020, the keyword "P2B" (Public to Business) describes several funding opportunities regarding the cooperation between academia and industry. Basically, two different structures can be subsumed under this concept:

  • So-called Contractual PPPs (see also Communication from the Commission and cPPP in Horizon 2020, Okt. 2015) , which are based on a contractual agreement between a public body and the private sector; their (mostly application-related) research topics are funded via regular calls for proposals in the Work Programmes of the European Commission.
  • So-called Institutional PPPs; these PPPs are so-called Joint Undertakings (JU), legally independent entities lead by industry with an extensive regulatory and budgetary autonomy. Joint Undertakings distribute funding from the public bodies and industry through their own application procedures. The most relevant example are the so-called Joint Technology Initiatives (JTI).

teaser

Horizon 2020

Governance

Forschungsförderung im Kontext von Horizon 2020 erfolgt in einer Reihe verschiedener Fördertypen, die sich mit Blick auf die Governance der Förderung zum Teil deutlich unterscheiden. Zugrundeliegendes Prinzip ist die über die Jahrzehnte schrittweise Externalisierung des operativen Fördergeschäfts durch die Europäische Kommission: Die Kommission selbst tritt zunehmend seltener als der eigentliche Förderer auf, sondern vergibt die Fördertätigkeit nach außen; für Horizon 2020 soll der Anteil des extern bewirtschafteten Budgets auf bis zu 80% steigen. Mit Blick auf Horizon 2020 lassen sich daher die folgenden Einteilungen vornehmen:

Förderung durch die Europäische Kommission

In diesen Fällen wird der Förderantrag bei der Europäischen Kommission gestellt, die die Begutachtung organisiert und dann – in der eingeführten deutschen Terminologie – bewilligt, prüft und abrechnet. Dies wird unter Horizon 2020 eher die Ausnahme sein; so werden etwa künftig die Teile "Science in and for Society" und "Widening Participation" voraussichtlich noch direkt von der Kommission abgewickelt.

Förderung über die Exekutiv-Agenturen der Europäischen Kommission

Die unter FP 7 vor allem in den Bereichen ERC und MSC bereits etablierten Verfahren bedienen sich rechtlich selbständiger "Ausgründungen" der Kommission, die die Projekte finanzieren und abwickeln. In Horizon 2020 sind bis zu fünf Exekutivagenturen (Executive Agencies) vorgesehen, die auch große Teile der Verbundforschung verwalten werden.

Private Public Partnerships (PPP)

Unter dem Stichwort "P2B" (Public to Business) werden zahlreiche Förderangebote im Kontext von Horizon 2020 in Kooperationen zwischen Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft ausgelagert. Man kann grundsätzlich zwei verschiedene Konstruktionen beschreiben:

  • Sog. Contractual PPPs, die auf einer vertraglichen Vereinbarung zwischen der öffentlichen Hand und dem privaten Sektor basieren; die Förderung ihrer (meist anwendungsnahen) Forschungsthemen erfolgt über die regulären Ausschreibungen in den Arbeitsprogrammen der Europäischen Kommission.
  • Sog. Institutional PPPs; dies sind sog. Gemeinsame Unternehmungen (Joint Undertakings, JU) mit dem Hauptanwendungsfall der Joint Technology Initiatives (JTI), rechtlich selbständige, industriegeführte Einheiten mit weitgehender regulatorischer und budgetärer Autonomie, die die von Wirtschaft und öffentlicher Hand zur Verfügung gestellten Fördermittel in eigenen Antragsverfahren verteilen.